South Africa Education

South Africa



University of Pretoria South Africa

Home of the Innovation Generation

100 years old in 2008

The University of Pretoria places the highest premium on academic excellence and academic standards and combines world-class education with beautiful, safe and stable campus settings that allow our students to enjoy student life to the full.
The University of Pretoria is one of the largest residential universities in South Africa and is situated in South Africa's ever expanding administrative capital. It embodies the rich diversity and depth of South African society. This world class research and training institution has be-come the driving force behind the Innovation Generation and provides the intellectual home of the rich diversity of South Africa's academic talent. Through excellence in research and other fields, we have become preferred partners, both
nationally as well as internationally.


The University of Pretoria strives to be:

  • A leader in higher education that is recognised internationally for academic excellence and a focus on quality;

  • A university that is known for international competitiveness and local relevance through continuous innovation;

  • The university of choice for students, staff employers of graduates and those requiring research solutions;

  • A university with an inclusive and enabling, value-driven culture, that provides an intellectual home for the rich diversity of South African academic talent;

  • The premier university in South Africa that acknowledges its prominent role in Africa, is a symbol of national aspiration and hope, reconciliation and pride, and is committed to discharging its social responsibilities.

To be an internationally recognised South African teaching and research university and a member of the international community of scholarly institutions.
The University of Pretoria is situated in the eastern suburbs of South Africa's expanding administrative capital, Tshwane, Gauteng Province, South Africa.
The University of Pretoria provides an intellectual home to anyone who has the interest and ability to participate in its programmes. The University acknowledges that every student has a right to excellent training. The University undertakes to develop and use the languages of instruction, Afrikaans and English, as valuable instruments of science.
Faculties, Departments and Programmes
Academic year: January to November
There are nine faculties:
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Veterinary Science

140 Departments and 43 centres, institutes and bureaus

Application and Closing Dates

Applications open 1 March of the year preceding the year of study.

Closing dates are:
Study fields requiring selection - 30 June
Study fields not requiring selection - 31 August for international students; and South African students - 30 September

Admission requirements are set for each degree offered

Accommodation @ UP

Taking the residence option will provide you with an active student life, structure and security. Contact:


Campuses of the University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria has five campuses:

  • Hatfield Campus (Main campus)

  • Onderstepoort (Faculty of Veterinary Science)

  • Groenkloof (Faculty of Education)

  • Prinshof (Faculty of Health Sciences)

  • Mamelodi Campus

Hatfield Campus, Hatfield, Tshwane, Gauteng

Is the largest campus and is located in Hatfield. Most of the residences are within walking distance of the campus as well as restaurants, banks, grocery stores and has a large shopping mall.

Onderstepoort Campus, Onderstepoort

Onderstepoort is the only Faculty of Veterinary Science in South Africa.

Groenkloof Campus

The Faculty of Education is located in Groenkloof and has its own residences and sports grounds as well as beautiful surroundings.

Prinshof Campus

The Faculty of Health Sciences and Dentistry has top class training facilities. The Prinshof Campus has its own accommodation facilities for students. Nursing students have their own accommodation facilities.


Mamelodi campus is modern and boasts of a very active student life.

Student Support Services


To create an equitable environment for students by providing vocational guidance, social and psychological care in order to ensure academic excellence.

Health Services

Free medical services are available to all UP registered students. Your student card assures access.


The University of Pretoria offers top sport facilities and a High Performance Centre with a Sport Hotel for visiting sport men and women.

Sport at the University of Pretoria has long and proud traditions. Over the years, TUKS has produced many national and international sport stars.

Student Representation

The Student Representative Council consists of 50 members. These members are appointed according to a system of proportional representation. It's primary responsibility is student management and student matters.

As such the SRC has the duty to formulate policy and procedures and determine what is relevant to student management.

Client Service Centre Location and Contact Details

Lynnwood Road EntranceLynnwood, TshwaneGauteng Province, RSA

+27 12 420 3111
+27 12 420 4555

Monday - Friday 08h00 to 16h00
Saturday Closed
Request Information: 

Fields marked (*) are required
Email From:*





Created by Contact Form Generator


English version

University of Pretoria
Lynnwood road
South Africa

Switchboard Tel: +27 12 420 4111
Call Centre Tel: +27 12 420 3111
Call Centre Fax: +27 12 420 4555
Call Centre E-mail:


*Contact* Accommodation *Insurance * Travel * Sitemap *

International Education Media Trinity House Heather Park Drive London HA0 1SU

Tel: 00 44 (0)208 902 1485 Fax: 00 44 (0) 208 902 9445 E Mail

eXTReMe Tracker